# Managing Project Members

**URL:** <https://community.toggl.com/t/managing-project-members/145>\
**Category:** Project and data management\
**Created:** [November 20, 2024, 3:00pm UTC](https://community.toggl.com/t/managing-project-members/145 "2024-11-20T15:00:47Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 1\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Support](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/flex012/user_avatar/community.toggl.com/support/32/1577_2.png) [@Support](https://community.toggl.com/u/Support)\
**Post date:** [November 20, 2024, 3:00pm UTC](https://community.toggl.com/t/managing-project-members/145/1 "2024-11-20T15:00:48Z")

</div>

> _Adding members to private projects._

### How can I add members to a project?

Project members can only be added to private projects. Everyone in the workspace has access to all Public projects. Read more about [access rights here](https://support.toggl.com/en/articles/2216605-access-rights-and-privileges).

To add a new project member, click on the Add Member button on the Project Team tab. At this time, you can set a billable/cost rate (paid plans only) or make them a [project manager](https://support.toggl.com/en/articles/2475152-managing-projects) if you wish.

ℹ Team members can be notified of new projects they’ve been added to by enabling the **Notify me when I’m added to a new project** option in [Profile settings](https://track.toggl.com/profile). Admins cannot change this setting on team member’s behalf.

[![Team view showing members of a private project](https://canada1.discourse-cdn.com/flex012/uploads/toggl1/original/1X/ce3ca8f3849fcdc05c4dd691bc3be31372adbe0e.png)](https://downloads.intercomcdn.com/i/o/256594497/6e737d7613d699eefcde8e9a/screely-1602885535216.png?expires=1732114800&signature=8cadfa90711be05629703d7aec2c3dff7edee65afedde6c9f869d2743a9c767f&req=diUhE8B6mYhYFb4f3HP0gKziWVfBUNSH4ub4cLO99Cm8iVppm9u%2BCmxG3WZN%0AdkSygERQu2t6AhonYQ%3D%3D%0A)

### Setting a billable rate, labor cost and project manager role:

Users’ rates and roles can be adjusted from the Project Team tab as well by clicking on the appropriate field. Use the 3-dot control to remove a user from a project if they no longer need access to it. This will prevent them from being able to track time on it in the future.
